An Ode to an Entrepreneur


When I was a boy I was the cute little guy that other kids picked on. My big brother is seven years older and he was never around to watch after me. Bullying came naturally to the other kids in the neighborhood and I was a victim. I never liked grammar school or high school because of all the bullying, but I enjoyed college because I liked to think and the bullies were gone.

Later in my career I became reacquainted with bullying. Some of the places I worked did not care about what I thought, but simply wanted me to become a robot. This experience drove me to entrepreneurship because I wanted to think on my own instead of having the frontal lobotomy. I like to achieve, but I am not satisfied when someone else receives the praises for my accomplishments. I like to lead and entrepreneurship sets me free.

I love to learn and hate the boredom of repetition. I prefer to explore instead of relying on rote memory. I want to make conditions better rather than relying on the tried-and-true. Nothing is perfect as perfection is a vision not a static condition, and moving toward perfection means failing several times to find a better solution. I learn from the school of hard knocks.

I see a path to educate entrepreneurs that does not break them to get what they need. I want to remove the bureaucracy at the top and start in the trenches. Those who offer the most benefit to entrepreneurs are not the administrators, but the educators. Entrepreneurs by nature are uncomfortable with bureaucracy and need educators to jump into the trenches with them.

What I want is to improve conditions for others entrepreneurs and help them succeed. Entrepreneurship has not earned the attention it deserves and the time has come to understand its value to economic growth and job creation. I want to collaborate with others to realize my dream. Small business and entrepreneurship will rise again and hopefully will set you free!

Learn more about my vision!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by imabusinessman on March 29, 2012 - 9:39 pm

    What are your thoughts on joining a smaller company vs trying to start a company, if you have very limited experience? Currently, one year into a corporate job and am thinking about the next step. Would appreciate your thoughts.

    • #2 by APG Academy of Entrepreneurship on March 30, 2012 - 7:08 am

      Working at a small company to get experience is a good strategy if you have limited experience and want to start your own business. You have the security of a job and can learn from the experience. Is the company you work for one that relates to the business you want to start?

  2. #3 by imabusinessman on March 30, 2012 - 8:44 pm

    Thank you.

    Not directly related, but we do help private equity firms finance purchases or recapitalizations of companies that are typically still owned by the entrepreneur, so in that respect I get to study different companies/industries.

    I am still trying to figure out what type of company/industry I want to go work for.

  3. #4 by bourne2b on April 2, 2012 - 4:35 pm

    Amen to that! We have a similar vision! I like to think of myself as a partner with an entrepreneur, its not my business, but I set myself up for failure just like they do. If I see them fail in their business it is a reflection of my work as well. I DO take it personally, as anyone who works with or educates entrepreneurs should!

    I find that in working with entrepreneurs, you have to get them to trust you. Like you said, there is often little trust in entrepreneurs. Thanks for your input, we need more people out there like you!

Leave a Reply

