Starting a Business is Like Running a Marathon


I started running late in life when two of the guys at worked challenged me to run a mile with them. I worked at a large hospital at the time and worked and often socialized with two guys. One managed patient accounts and the other was a consultant from Andersen Consulting (now Accenture). At the time, I was overweight and wanted to lose some weight. The challenge we made with one another stipulated that whoever quits has to buy whoever keeps running dinner. Guess what? I am the guy who did not quit and I went on to become fanatical about my running. The other guys treated me to a free dinner.

Good entrepreneurs are like runners because they do not quit. I used to tell myself, “one foot in front of the other.” Entrepreneurs should tell themselves something similar like take it a step at a time, but whatever you do, do not quit. Similarly, an entrepreneur should take an active interest in the business he creates. The entrepreneur should also give himself small rewards along the way like the free dinner I received from my work associates.

Okay, so after this first episode I continued to run. I started running about three miles about three times a week through my neighborhood, but then the fall came. Another friend of mine wanted to join a new health club so we could play racquetball. I went to the club and signed up with him to play racquetball, but we started our routine doing a workout. I noticed the club had an indoor running track and next time I brought my running gear so I could run a little first before playing racquetball.

Next time we visited the club, I started running first before our game. I met some nice people on the track who encouraged me to run the Chicago Marathon with them. My racquetball friend did not like running and our racquetball games quickly stopped, but running with my new friends continued.

Starting a business is like running because you develop and nurture new relationships. After our runs we would go upstairs to the bar and have a few beers and have a good time. We forged a strong relationship with each other. We talked about our plans for the marathon. Starting a business is similar to planning to run a marathon because a business founder plans his business and develops strong relationships in forming those plans. A business founder does not exist on an island, but collaborates with those he trusts. A good business depends on good relationships.

As the date of the marathon approached, we trained together encouraging one another. We trained inside and out depending on the weather. We continued encouraging one another on our runs and discussed different strategies to take to complete the marathon and run a good time. A few of my friends fell to injuries, but most of us went on to the marathon.

A new business is similar because some relationships will stop and others will continue depending on who is the fittest. The camaraderie continues as the goal comes into sight. The new business founder has to keep his goals in front of him just like a person wanting to complete the marathon. The new business founder continues to forge relationships with the fittest of his relationships.

The day of the marathon finally arrived and the weather was perfect. I started out slow to pace myself. I learned from running with my friends I am an endurance runner, but not too fast. However, my friends pushed me to improve my time. Running a new business is similar to the marathon because business associates push you to do better and recognize your abilities.

During the marathon I built speed as the race progressed and I loved the cheering crowd’s encouragement. As the I approached the twenty mile mark, runners started to hit the wall and drop from the race, but I continued to press on. Running a new business is like running a marathon because some people hit the wall, while others press on to the finish. Customer encouragement helps the new business put the final goal in sight. A new business needs customer feedback to stay on course and complete the race.

As I approached the finish I saw many struggling to continue. Some stopped or walked as they headed to the finish. I felt good as my training paid off and I decided to pass as many people as I could. I surged to the finish picking off as many competitors as possible and I could finally see the time clock at the finish. I knew I had beat my goal and a good feeling it was.

Starting a new business is like running a marathon because training pays off and allows an entrepreneur to surpass the competition. The goal of the entrepreneur becomes clearer as the founder approaches the finish line and it feels good to beat the goal.

As I crossed the finish, a few of my faster friends greeted me and I waited with them to see the others of us who finished. One by one I greeted the rest of my friends as they completed their journey. Running a business is like running a marathon because the encouragement continues throughout the journey. The camaraderie continues as those who make it have cause to celebrate.

Are you ready to run the marathon and start your own business? Learn more.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Harry on June 13, 2012 - 4:09 am

    Good article with a clever analogy – starting a business can be like a marathon: the preparation, the dedication, the acheivement! Small businesses should also ensure they are adequately protected with business insurance: http://shop.qdosconsulting.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

